How I Greeted The New Year

It’s less than two hours into 2022

I’m playing guitar outside under the public shelter by the beach

and out of the corner of my eye

I see two silhouettes – a man and woman walk out of the night

and I thought to play them a song I thought they might know

Time of Your Life (Good Riddance) by Green Day

I played that song as well as I have ever played it

I saw the man get down on one knee

then I looked away

the same reaction I have to passing car accidents on the highway

I’m no rubbernecker

I have seen marriage proposals go south

but when I was done playing the song the man yelled to me, “She said yes!”

“Congratulations!” I automatically yelled back

and then his silhouette walks across the shelter until it appears in the flesh before me

sitting cold and alone two hours after midnight New Year’s Eve

and I get a look at this kid now under the light

and though he is sporting a moustache

he can’t be more than nineteen years old

and now I feel both flattered and guilty that I could have helped inspire the kid’s

proposal

and I look at the kid’s face

and he is smiling like I can’t remember the last time I smiled like that

and either he knows something I don’t

or he is an idiot

and when I see his baby face in the light thanking me

for playing one of his favorite songs

I wanted to apologize and warn him that he was making a terrible mistake

and he shouldn’t let simple sentimentalities such as New Year’s Eve

and a silly song by Green Day define the rest of his life

then I see the young man’s smile

bright as the last star to cling to the dawning sky

and I suspend disbelief for the sake of romance, New Year’s

and the hope in this young man’s eyes reminds me why I write poetry in the first place.





Leave a comment