Songs You Take With You

Some songs you take with you

some songs you sing by heart

songs that live in you and are part

of you

songs that burrow deeper than mere ear worms

songs that sing you

as much as you sing them

the song you want to get married to

the song you could die to

the song that you would have written had you ever learned to play guitar

this song I sing along

to

this is that song

though you can’t hear it

but trust me you feel it

cause it’s that song for you

but it isn’t

cause your song isn’t my song

but they both do their voodoo that they do so well

so we know how much Cole Porter can mean to a true fan

though one of us loves Aerosmith

and your song is Love In An Elevator

and you’re an idiot.

2 thoughts on “Songs You Take With You

  1. kvennarad

    I often find other people who have ‘my’ song; but I never enquire to closely, in case I find it means something different to them. That would be like wondering why someone laughs in the middle of ‘Hamlet’ – the “Yeah, yeah!” moment and the grin would fade.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I know what you mean but still I can’t help but ask why my opponents wear my number 5 while playing baseball. I’ve asked this to almost every opponent I stand next to on first base and I’ve never heard the same reason. And numbers are linear. Now consider emotions and the reasons are infinite.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

