Brushing Up Next to a Beautiful Stranger on a Subway

The last thing we need is the first thing I need

when we don’t need anything

I need

life

without it I’m gone

and so would you be

when we share this life

isn’t this exciting

that of all the sentient beings ever to be

in this history

we get to be

here a

t the same time

and still we choose to ignore each other

even though we’re sitting next to each other

on this crowded subway

so deep under ground

life up top is less intimidating

than your shirt sleeve next to me.

4 thoughts on “Brushing Up Next to a Beautiful Stranger on a Subway

    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Thank you for teaching me the meaning of enjamb
      ment.
      I tripped on the keyboard and liked how it looked.
      And sometimes the jerk of the subway makes you get more familiar with the person next to you than you meant.

      Reply
      1. cottonbombs Post author

        Gotta say, you do do good work. Without your comments my comments section would be nothing. And my vocabulary would be a few words poorer. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

