When Love Becomes a Funereal Procession

This song is a ghost

haunting me wherever I go

no film or color or photo

can torture me

as much as these notes

sung through these speakers

I must mute

but cannot

cause that would be killing what we were

for you live in these lyrics

and I die a little

every time I hear them

so out of respect to what we were

I accept what is

alone

though these words sing of two

I know

after such a love affair

only one can remain standing

and sitting here

I wonder if it’s

me

or if

it’s

you.

 

Leave a Reply

