This Close To That

My fingers set me moving to lead me here

and two lines in and I’m still not sure where here is

yet I keep typing

I could check a dictionary to find the right word

I could check an atlas to remind me

here I am

I could check my philosophy textbook

to tell me

I think therefore I am

or I could check my side-view mirror

to see that objects in the mirror are closer than they appear

cause right now I only exist in your eyes

so you tell me

how we got here

and I’d be eternally grateful

if we could kiss

and outlast

the next

and final

line.

2 thoughts on “This Close To That

    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Thank you a lot. (I don’t know how to make an emoticon, so, just imagine an emoticon of me playing twister with an octopus smiling while sipping a cup of cheer.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

