How Do You Like Them Rotten Apples?

Measure me in kilos

measure me in pounds

measure me in bursts of hot air and black holes

get my height weight and shoe size

but you’ll never get inside

into the infinite

where we’re always expanding

even while we think we’re shrinking

and if the shape of man is in a question mark

and we’re always hunched over

in the dark

like Newton on the bottom of the sea

measuring to see exactly where he is

while where he is

is drowning at the bottom of the sea

and if we just look up or out in front of me

I’d better believe

reality before any theory

and surely

coming up with The Theory of Gravity

is no paper weight

let’s not lose sight of the apple

that beaned Sir Isaac right on the bean

and the simple seed

that had blossomed into such an inspirational fruit

why should any man get credit for the ‘Theory’ of ‘Gravity’?

how bout giving all credit to the creator of the reality

that can turn a seed into an apple tree

dropping wisdom dressed as rotten apples

off its branches

setting seeds of inspiration free

and who needs Newton

to see gravity?

4 thoughts on “How Do You Like Them Rotten Apples?

    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I wrote this inspired by William Blake’s print of Newton on the floor sea working out his bearings with a protractor. I respect Newton. I’ve been hit on the head with lots of things, and never once came up with anything more profound than: ouch!

      Reply
  1. Betty Hayes Albright

    You’re still writing great poems, I see. πŸ™‚ Full of both whimsy and wisdom.
    Sorry I’ve not been around for awhile – (chronic pain continues to limit my time on the computer) – just wanted to let you know I still enjoy your poetry and will try to get back here more often.

    Oh hey – and baseball season is just starting, right? What team is Ichiro on these days? (Our Seattle Mariners are still pretty lame.)

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Betty!
      Yes, baseball season is just starting. I play my first game this Saturday. I had an off year last year, but, I’m excited for this year. This year Ichiro is with the New York Yankees and Robinson Cano is with Seattle. It’s a mixed up world. Same souls, opposite skins.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

