Why We Invented Pointillisim

Words lost in translation

are only symptoms

not cures to all that we are missing

in these spaces separating us from ourselves

in these spaces between our fingers

as we hold hands

our hands hold us

as we aspire to be

reaching out to be touched even while touching nothing

so close too close to feeling

where I end and you begin

so intertwined we can’t feel nor see

where your skin ends and my skin breathes

and though I itch

I scratch your skin

so hard it bleeds

cause I feel no relief from my finger nails

as they dig in to your skin.

4 thoughts on “Why We Invented Pointillisim

  1. kvennarad

    I’m reminded (silly, really) of the third and fourth lines of the song ‘Dada Wouldn’t Buy Me A Bauhaus’:

    I’ve got a nice Seurat
    And I’m very fond of that…

    I feel as though this poem starts with semiotics and ends with physical sensation and is all about meaning. That’s how I feel, anyway.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I feel you are further away from the poem that you might even know it better than I. That’s how I feel, anyway. And thank you for introducing me to The Times. I have always been behind The Times. It’s good to catch up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

