Tomorrow’s Haikus Today

Live for tomorrow

rehearse for infinity

wake up for today.

Your hand opens mine

finger petals to the sun

fists wilt in caress.

At simplicity

the C chord is just the C

our bodies, the sea.

Dreaming in exhales

spent breath of a dead belief

carbon monoxide.

Tragedy’s funny

when you give it enough time

it’s all comedy.

Coffee reflection

looking deep into the black

drink: who swallows who?

There’s truth in beauty

there’s truth in ugly as well

truth can be two-faced.

What you call fickle

I call flexible as grass

bends to every breeze.

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow’s Haikus Today

  1. Harriett

    My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how
    much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I appreciate the feedback. And if I literally made your day, I feel like my powers of poetry have transcended into the realm of manipulation that I will unleash upon the next unsuspecting traffic cop trying to give me a ticket. I hope you and your brother enjoy my future posts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

