Abstracting From The Abstract

I want to want less

I know I’m off to a bad start if I want it

I have to not want to want less

left not wanting on the right foot.

As a kid, I didn’t think I was cool enough for an imaginary friend

so, I had an imaginary enemy; Mr. Fuffelpants really hated my guts.

Now is the new then

and then

imaginary enemies become conscience

still

I could care less about my apathy but I just don’t feel like it.

I use a disposable camera for all my disposable memories.

Looking right side up is seeing backwards backwards

looking wrong side down

our eyes show us not how things are but how things should be.

“We see things not as they are, but as we are”

says every abstract painting crying to be seen by someone brave enough to try.

When one sees a mess of paint

and another sees the brilliance of the painter we see where the art starts and where the

artist departs

and I want to understand what this means

but I want it too much

like standing too close to a Seurat

I can only see

not feel the painting.

6 thoughts on “Abstracting From The Abstract

  1. yourothermotherhere

    “I see the poem is good” she said with a sigh, “but why I feel that way I don’t know why.”

    Reply
      1. cottonbombs Post author

        Thank you, it’s a nice compliment, though, since I don’t do the writing, I feel the poem deserves the credit. I just try not to get too much in the way.

Leave a Reply

