Taking a Tape Measure to the Horizon

How we define ish defines us

you say eightish

I say great

I arrive eightish

you say I’m late

I say eight thirtyish is eightish

you say you can’t fake fate

I say what’s fate got to do with timeish

you say it’s time I learned how it feels to wait

and now every time the phone rings I hope it’s youish

and it’s not and I know I always go for fate’s bait

for it was fate to tempt time to be hooked like a fish

onto these lines cast deep into this sea

measuring the ocean in a cup that can’t contain the vish

and we think we can delineate infinity

or, at least, infinityish.

4 thoughts on “Taking a Tape Measure to the Horizon

Leave a Reply

