Why We Jump Out of Planes

Free falling from a plane

on purpose

I wasn’t pushed

I jumped

parachute strapped optimistically to my back

I can’t see the ground

I can’t feel the grin plastered to my face by the force of the wind

I was told I have ten seconds of free fall

till the chute opens

it rips me right back into the sky

and I’m not falling any more

I’m falling up

till gravity notices I’m not a bird

and pushes me right back down

but slower this time

I’m not falling or flying

I’m floating

and I have time to take in the fall

and the land

and I can see the tops of trees and a wide swath of field awaiting me

and it’s wonderful

but I preferred free fall.

Leave a Reply

