I Know Why The City Bird Sings

City birds are singing like car alarms

the birds on the telephone lines are so used to hearing cars screaming for help

they have tuned their voices

to the alarms’ chirps

the thumb print of hi-tech mechanics right there on their ruby throated neck

the birds are so in key with the car`s self defense technology

that people can`t tell when it`s a call for the birds or when it`s technology`s call for help

now we have nature imitating nurture

amazing

a miracle in reverse

and with the translation option on Facebook and

a tower a bit taller than the one they’ve got in Dubai

we could inch closer

to building our Tower of Babel

and with technology teaching nature how to sing

let’s just see God knock it over now.

9 thoughts on “I Know Why The City Bird Sings

      1. yourothermotherhere

        I could be wrong, but you’ve seemed to have changed. I kind of expected a smart ass answer. Are you okay?

      2. cottonbombs Post author

        My smart ass answer is in the mail. Still, I hope I’ve changed. Everything from my shirt to my poetry can only improve with change. How are you?

  1. yourothermotherhere

    A kinder and gentler cottonbombs? It will take getting used to… I’m fine. Thanks for asking.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I never promised kinder nor gentler, just changed. I still don’t even know what changed means, but, let’s see what the new year brings. I am glad you’re fine. I wish you to be better than fine, like, euphoric, or even enchanted, but, I am happy you are fine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

