I Need This Like I Need Another Hole In My Head

Laughing at the assassination of Lincoln

that gunshot to his head is now a punchline

“I need to watch this play like I need another hole in my head!”

the Black Plague has turned into a children’s song

to the tune of Ring Around The Rosie

hush-a hush-a we all fall down

hell, even the sinking of the Titanic is something campers are singing

while roasting marshmallows

and isn’t this all wonderful?

Doesn’t this prove that time heals all wounds

as Groucho said: time wounds all heels

as Woody Allen said:

Comedy is Tragedy plus Time

somewhere in between the mathematics of emotions

we evolve

take the shine off the shiner we got to the eye

cry

and

learn to sing the Blues in tune.

2 thoughts on “I Need This Like I Need Another Hole In My Head

  1. Steven Myers

    nice jackhammer here.
    i catch myself saying to someone, “i know what you mean”
    and then stop because maybe i had a similar pain experience,
    but i’m not inside that pain anymore,
    i’m somewhere else…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

