Eavesdropping in on God

Running this evening

through the same park

a year’s anniversary

since the coyote chased me

scaring the living daylights out of me

still, I run through this park

I’m not letting the coyote take this nature from me

though, I do run earlier now

never going out later than sunset

darkness I’ll give to the coyote

but the sun’s all mine

and I’m mere meters from where I met the coyote

and I see a woman walking towards me

she’s talking loudly to no one around her

and I think she’s crazy

cause it’s dim and I can’t see if there’s a bluetooth in her ear

cause that’s the difference between crazy and sane right there:

there is somebody on the other end to hear

and I think of God

and all our prayers.

2 thoughts on “Eavesdropping in on God

  1. Steven Myers

    i like your courage to be in the very spot where the attack happened at the very time…
    like moon dance rituals in a very circular way and yet,
    the contents of the circle have changed and by george herman, there’s a lady where the coyote once was and both maybe get the heart pumping a little faster.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I’m not sure if it’s courage or being stubborn, but I don’t want to give up that part of the park cause it’s my favorite spot in the city to run. I just run a little faster when I get to it and my eyes dart about even faster than my legs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

