Learning To Like Kimchi

How many times have I listened to a song the first time and gave up on it

before the chorus

only to have it turn around in my ear

and later become one of my favorites

too many times to count

like I made myself like kimchi

living in Korea

I felt I was missing the taste of the culture

not liking their national dish

so I ate one piece every day for two years before

learning to like fermented cabbage tasting like fish

like Mrs. Kim told me she hated her husband

for the first seventeen years of their marriage

till one day she awoke to discover

she loved the stranger sleeping next to her

I guess

nature like nurture

love needs both.

2 thoughts on “Learning To Like Kimchi

Leave a Reply

