Watering Plants With Fire

Sometimes you think you’re the only one

who knows

the truth

to something

and you could be right

you could be that truth’s only light

but you shine like the stars in the day time

if nobody else sees how bright

like the cure for cancer growing in an undiscovered cave somewhere

and

how still America must have stood

before Asians tramped across the ice of the Bering Sea

and warmed her with their humanity

The Mayans learned to tell time

The Mayans learned to slash and burn

to find that crops grow better after the land has been burnt

flames taught the tribe how to cultivate life from destruction

best I can do is bleed a few lines about it

on paper made from the pulp of trees

now the pressure’s on you, My Favorite Reader

to give meaning to poetry

written on somebody else’s history

your eyes give rise

to any yeast growing from these seeds

asking you to do my job for me

is the greatest favor a writer can ask of his reader

knowing that you know what I mean

when I write of watering plants with fire.

8 thoughts on “Watering Plants With Fire

  1. lamehousewife

    mmmmm…a challenge…give me a chance to think awhile on that one, but it is beautiful as always. Rebirth? It made me think of that Fantasia 2000 episode at the end, but I don’t know what it is called. It’s Friday. My brain starts shutting down about now. I’ll have to get back to you. Thank you, cottonbombs…

    Reply
      1. lamehousewife

        Your poetry is hardly leftovers:) I took the plunge and have gotten myself into the teaching program. Right now, we are talking about the law and reading a lot. It is burning the plants in my brain, or perhaps that means I am just getting some sunlight in some of those nooks and cracks:)

      2. cottonbombs Post author

        Welcome to the wonderful world of teaching! I hope it teaches you as much as you have to teach. That’s my favorite part of teaching: learning.

  2. Anonymous

    These meanings are getting me seriously crazy since a long time, but as Picasso said “Everything you can imagine is real”.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      The meanings shouldn’t make you crazy (though I’m flattered they do) the meanings are yours to decide. Don’t make yourself crazy, unless, of course, you want to.

      Reply
  3. Steven Myers

    some tribe says their ancestors crawled out of a log.
    they’d never heard of this bee ring straight.
    curvy imagination trumps facts on my scorecard anyday.
    who knows what time it is or when this all started?
    the mayans didn’t invent eternity. they just accessed it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

