The Marriage of Heaven and What the Hell

What’s the one thing you don’t know that you most want to know

and what if you knew it

how would it change my life

not much I bet

how do I know

I don’t know

but I’d bet against me altering my lifestyle

over any such answer

1 + 2 = 3

we know

yet, how has that stopped us from fantasizing a fourth primary color

we watch tragedies

even though we know how they turn out

we are tragedies

even though we still turn out for weddings

hoping they end in death not divorce

cause really you’ve only got two options

and the romantic enters the marriage

hoping to be separated on such a technicality as

till death do thee part

like the poet enters the poem

hoping the poem will enter him.

Leave a Reply

