Scratching Diamonds

Diamonds can only be scratched by other diamonds

if diamonds are a girl’s best friend

why does my exgirlfriend hate baseball?

It’s played on a diamond

I thought my heart was a diamond

until she crushed it to chalk

but like lemons made into lemonade

I turn chalk into words on the blackboard

sweetened by the history of your eyes

sparkling like sugar on your lips

I see sweetening

slaking my summer thirst

though I sip from an empty glass

sitting here

alone

imaging you reading this

you’re beautiful

diamonds got nothing on you

diamonds wear you

you don’t wear diamonds

and you’re why I don’t put a diamond on my girlfriend’s finger

cause I’m married to you

my reader.

5 thoughts on “Scratching Diamonds

    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Rose! I hope to make starting pitcher in that back of beyond sandlot. If there’s one thing I know about the Afterlife, is that there is baseball there.

      Reply
  1. Steven Myers

    i’m not much for superlatives,
    but this screams in the anguish
    of onward. i immediately see the sketch
    of walking the path between two mountains
    as the natural course to take…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

