Reflections On Top Of The Mountain

Fear is not a snake, it’s a shadow in the mind’s eye.

We can’t choose everything that happens, but we can decide how to deal with them after they hiss at us. I chose to fight my way to the top of this mountain, what did fear give me? Nothing but an increased heart rate and jumpy fingers. Fear wanted me to give up half way and go home defeated by shadows.

Snakes are real, God knows, He made them, but, so are my eyes and reflexes. So, it was only fear, not the serpents in the trees that brought cowardice to my knees.

And now I sit here, looking over this canopy of jungle, eyes lush with emerald leaves, I must remember those same slithering shadows wait for me on the way down.

3 thoughts on “Reflections On Top Of The Mountain

  1. Pingback: SLITHER « Written in Blood

Leave a Reply

