Eavesdropping on God

“How would you feel if you met your creator and all he said was”

then a car honked its horn

and I never heard what my creator said

I was eavesdropping on Yonge Street

walking behind this woman and man

and the woman was talking about man’s relationship with the Almighty

and I’m trying to walk far enough behind not to draw suspicion

but close enough to hear her every word

until the car honked its horn right next to us

beeping out the meaning of life itself

“How would you feel if you met your creator and all he said was”

BEEP!

“I bet you would really freak out,” she said.

Trust me, I was freaking out and I didn’t even hear a word of the creator

and that was my first problem.

Have you ever stood behind a pair of strangers at a red light

trying to work up the nerve to ask them to repeat a conversation

you have no rights to?

“Excuse me, I couldn’t help but eavesdrop on your conversation

could you tell me what the creator said?”

I never did.

The light turned green

and I turned yellow

and walked past them

following the path of night

lit up in artificial light

knowing if I walk long enough

even the longest street in the world

eventually comes to an end

and any map I thought I would need

reads as history.

6 thoughts on “Eavesdropping on God

    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Louise!
      Yonge Street, Toronto, where this originated from, is on interesting and surreal street. I walk down it every time, heading for the inspiration store. The street is open 24 hours, so, you can trust you’ll find something, even if you’re window shopping.

      Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Betty! Though I feel God is everywhere, it’s moments like this where I feel God does play hide-and-seek with the universe, or, at least, tag.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

