What I Wrote After My Elementary School Reunion

My elementary school is a penal colony called Australia

though it’s located in the center of Canada

but like England shipped their worst convicts to build Sydney

my grade three memories are built on the bruises of brutes and bullies

today I hear Sydney’s a really nice city

and the people are really friendly

proving rehabilitation is possible after all

just give it a few hundred years

or now I see

even twenty-five years can turn tragedy to comedy

just get whacked on your funny bone repeatedly

(funnier than it sounds now)

just give it a quarter century

get together with the people who gave you cuts

and laugh at the scars.

4 thoughts on “What I Wrote After My Elementary School Reunion

  1. granbee

    Geez, Peter, you certainly have made the fact of Canadians sending prisoners to Australia a very personal act for yourself. Very honorable of you, actually. And yes, I do believe Sydney is mostly inhabited by fully rehabilitate folk, unlike many cities in the U.S. (ha!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

