Haiku This

Green, red, brown, golden

it’s still the maple leaf

off the tree or on it.

****

The powder of sound

magic feeling of music

turns hearing to touch.

****

Screams in a pillow

fabric still smells of your hair

time to do laundry.

****

Reading by moon light

I guess at what shadows say

miming the words mine.

****

The moon fades away

as the sun yawns the sunrise

I hear the moon’s screams.

****

Finally sunrise

and the fangs of shadows melt

like naked werewolves.

****

9 thoughts on “Haiku This

  1. Steven Myers

    “screams in a pillow, fabric still smells of your hair, time to do laundry”
    this is what i will read to people when describing your poetry
    because it’s sensual, sarcastic, vivid, and damn good advice
    and much more as always.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Thank you for even writing you read my poetry to people. It’s a wonderful compliment. Glad I could put it into a bite sized piece. That’s why I often trade in haiku, I’m a sucker for its economy.

      Reply
      1. cottonbombs Post author

        I did a poetry reading on Ste. Laurent street in Montreal about 15 years ago. I don’t know if it was the city or the street or the bar or the jazz that I followed, but, it was one of the coolest nights of my life then, cause I was reading poetry in Montreal. That city sings in notes other cities don’t quite hear.

  2. granbee

    In the past, dear Peter, I have not always seen the connecting thread between your collected haikus=but this time I do! Either that, or my own dreams and half-awake early morning walks have been permanently in la-la land–not a bad idea, come to think of it! Seriously, I really perceive definitely maturing and development of your haiku writing skills!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Thank you for noticing! I am trying to establish more themes to connect these 17 syllables to something. It still feels like I’m trying to tape something to wind, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

