Scratching at the Sky

It’s hard to take she and me seriously cause she and me have died

dead words on paper that were once trees

bind what we left behind.

Why is it so hard to be happy to be satisfied

the leaves will be green I will breathe even after we’ve died.

It’s hard to take history seriously

cause history has died

dead men on the skin of cut down trees

history happens all the time.

I’m not afraid to die I’m afraid of what I’ll leave behind

and if there’s a paradise in the sky

that’s waiting for me when I die

this paradise in the sky over me

needs to be lower so I can reach.

8 thoughts on “Scratching at the Sky

  1. Steven Myers

    i like this..
    to accept loss forever since what good does it do to have baggage along the road?
    all the concepts and truths and absolutes people cling to
    it’s as if they’re drowing with happy faces, saved by buoys.
    even love, the most popular of the cliches has been watered down into
    a cocktail party. sometimes, goodbye has to be goodbye
    and the loneliness and confusion that follows
    is good preparation for that final trip we all have to take someday
    to maybe nothing anyway.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Your response is as poetic as my post: “and loneliness and confusion that follows/ is a good preparation for that final trip we all have to take someday/ to maybe nothing anyway.” True true true.

      Reply
      1. Steven Myers

        maybe it’s a bit masochistic to be welcoming loneliness and confusion,
        but i’ve heard more than once that making it to the big leagues
        is contingent on how one handles failure.

      2. cottonbombs Post author

        When hitting .300 is considered an accomplishment, celebrating players who fail 70% of the time shows baseball makes for good losers. Just ask Charlie Brown. “I don’t have a ball team, I have a theological seminary!”

  2. granbee

    Your reach should always exceed your grasp, Peter! Remember? I really like the two-edged swords of each line here. You really enjoy contradictions and opposites and non-resolutions, I think. But you write about these things so well I keep coming back, but one of these days I am going to shake my head right off my neck!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Rose! You got me pegged. I am a big fan of contrast and contradiction. I don’t know why. All I know is that I hate that I love it so much. I have a feeling that it has something to do with the yin yang nature of this universe and the ironic basis of comedy. Or I’m just nuts and I can’t accept reality as it is. Please don’t shake your head off your neck. We need to to direct your fingers to new heights of poetry.

      Reply
  3. Louise Jaques

    I think you might be in the unique position of being afraid of what you leave behind, as opposed to most, who are afraid they’ll leave nothing behind. There’s a big difference! Wonderfully drawn Peter.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Louise! Thank you for pointing out the difference. I agree, yet, we’re all heading the same direction, no matter what kind of baggage we take as carry-on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

