Why the Sky Is Blue

I asked you why the sky is blue

and you knew

and you explained it to me

literally

something about all colors have their own wave length

and blue is the shortest wave length

so blue gets scattered the most

and that is why the sky is blue

and that is so you

giving me a literal answer to a metaphorical question

like when I told the story of the blind guitar player

who died homeless of hypothermia

wrapped in wet newspapers sleeping under a bridge

and how Blind Willie Johnson’s music was packaged in the Voyager Golden Record

as an ambassador of sound from Earth to the Universe

you said space is a vacuum and sound dies in a vacuum

when you said that

of all mysteries of the universe

the one I most wanted to know

is what the hell I am doing with you.

12 thoughts on “Why the Sky Is Blue

  1. granbee

    Peter, indeed! I know if I met you in the grocery store and dared to offer a scientific explanation of the discoloration on the grapefruit rind, you would probably throw one at me! Why is the sky blue? Because it knows we like to gaze at it to lift us out of our blue mood? What else could it be?

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Rose! I would never throw the grapefruit at you, Rose. I might think about it, go home and write a scathing haiku about it, but, I would never throw a grapefruit at you. And, as always, you see the bright side of being blue.

      Reply
  2. Steven Myers

    wonderful! this is exploding with love…a salty love that preserves
    rather than a sacharine watered down truce.
    i love when blue skies become propaganda disguising beautiful black infinty
    and a colorful anonymous death becomes a number
    especially when cold convinced the heat of all this.
    i can hear woodie allen channeling groucho marx and saying
    “i would not join a club that would have someone like me as a member.”

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Your source material of Woody Allen quoting Groucho at the start of Annie Hall is a well played quote. You are stepping into two of my favorite influences. ‘Next to a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside a dog, it’s too dark to read.’ said Groucho. I guess he didn’t have a laptop, cause from this screen, I am reading just fine.

      Reply
      1. Steven Myers

        your humor and insight have that marx allen edge.
        a few nights ago i watched a documentary on allen, it’s on mpix this month. learned a lot about his ability to compartmentalize and letting actors bring their own style into his script. both seems like good habits at work and anywhere else.
        he’s still so damn funny rambling on at the end about all his dreams being fulfilled; from comic to actor to director, but still, he says, “i feel like i’ve been screwed” and then he laughs and that’s the end and did i just spoil it for you? no, but seriously, the whole doc is worth watching.

      2. cottonbombs Post author

        I watched the Woody Allen documentary and I loved it. All your suggestions from Lenny Bruce, Groucho, baseball, and now, Woody Allen are some of my favorite things in life. My life changed at the age of 17 watching Annie Hall. I remember thinking: this exists? How wonderful! I have since seen every one of his movies. You mentioned Zelig in one of your previous posts. That’s my favorite of his.

Leave a Reply

