What For Metaphor?

I portaged this dream through the sinews of reality

falling asleep on a plane on the tarmac of Canada

to awake on the tarmac of China

forget religion, forget divine intervention

its these fingers running across this keyboard

that acts sacrosanct to the devotion

I’m supposed to feel when bowing to the alter.

That we even invented metaphor

(or did metaphor invent us?

what came first, the chicken or the omelette?)

[If you answered, ‘omelette’ you should probably stop reading and give reality another

shot cause you aren’t ready for metaphor.]

illustrates how desperate our language is

to try and explain itself

to say

I was angry

has less sense as

I was steaming mad

see, it’s the steaming that does it

the metaphor brings reality to the words

the life to the sound

and all reality is a metaphor waiting to be plucked petal by petal

leaving truth a naked stalk to be tossed away

and doesn’t poetry prove how fickle a hold we have on the reins of reality

when we need to create a whole new beast

to run the race

we have already run

while wiping sleep from my eyes

forgotten dreams quoted in verse

I don’t remember writing.

10 thoughts on “What For Metaphor?

  1. Steven Myers

    fantastic.
    after one read, i feel like i’m juggling water
    and the second time travelling into a mirror where so much was not seen before
    and the third, that this is all a dream.
    “reality is a metaphor waiting to be plucked petal by petal
    leaving truth a naked stalk to be tossed away”
    i’m blown away and still here.

    Reply
  2. Betty Hayes Albright

    “and all reality is a metaphor waiting to be plucked petal by petal” – I’ve always viewed life and reality that way too. 🙂
    It always feels like you’ve taken the words right out of my subconscious and expressed them – and so very cleverly!

    Reply
      1. cottonbombs Post author

        Betty! I know, I am listening to the opera coming through your fillings. Sounds great, though. You shouldn’t be shy to share such symphonies.

  3. granbee

    What? Me? I wrote that? It must have been when I was landing in China, just before exiting in Canada? Metaphors are your true forte, dear Peter. No escape for you from language anytime soon, I am afraid.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Have you ever been to either country, Rose? I mean, literally speaking. I’m a big fan of both. And you are right, there is no escape from language. It’s why I can’t meditate, all these words keep getting in the way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

