Makeup of Science and Magic

A year has the same makeup as a snowflake

the same principles of science and magic mix to make the two exist

falling from the sky like time itself

each one separate from the rest, yet, born from the same cloud.

I pack a snowball and aim it right for the future

my target across the street.

I throw wide the first time, but I’m confident I’ll hit it

we are rich with snow

and I can spend all the time in the earth

and until I’m buried in it

I’ll make snow angels.

4 thoughts on “Makeup of Science and Magic

  1. Steven Myers

    awesome!
    this reads like a bean ball,
    wakes me up to glory right under our noses.
    a little manager’s instinct–kicking back and waiting for 3-run homer magic
    and a little blue print analysis. mixed and bottled.
    why all the fuss?
    let the supposed enemy’s continue their abstract love quarrel
    while the rest of make angels in the snow fields.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Damn right. I’m throwing chin music at the future hoping to make it take a step back in the box and give me my plate. I don’t know about you, but I can’t walk down a street filled with good old fashioned packing snow without testing my arm and aim. It’s how I make peace with Old Man Winter, the bastard who takes the sun and baseball away from me every year.

      Reply
  2. granbee

    Making snow angels to fly you on their wings to your future: a truly inspired idea, Peter. I am headed out right now to make mine! Snow to you, too, buddy!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Rose! You have snow down there? Aren’t you in Alabama? Wherever you are, and whatever the weather, it’s good of you to comment, and I hope your angels, snow, guardian, or better, halo your day in warmth and inspiration.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

