Hope Is the Thing With a Fuselage

You’re halfway across the Pacific

and here I sit imagining you on that airplane

technology that carries the weight of my soul

my ghost in the machine

my deus ex machina

my winged miracle

more miraculous than a bird

cause God made the bird

but we made the plane

don’t you see how the real miracle flies there?

cause we have so much less power to draw from

yet still us dumb humans put birds in the air

(we)man rising up to God

faster than sound

but slower than these thoughts that catch you midair

you stare out the window at an expanse of blue

as wide and as true as love that drowns you

you’ll be over it soon

but I’ll still be here doubting

the one unselfish act I ever gave breath to

wondering if by giving you your

wings

I clipped the thing with feathers.

12 thoughts on “Hope Is the Thing With a Fuselage

  1. granbee

    “wondering if by giving you your wings,I clipped the thing with feathers”–this is how we parents of young adult children ALWAYS feel when we send them flying back to their lives. We wonder if we supplied so many accoutrements (“advantages”) that we have overloaded their wings with our own ideas of feathers! This poem really flowed today, Peter. Very expertly polished up and delivered here, guy!

    Reply
  2. reader

    One thing,every day I look forward to,is this site that has a lot to do with my imagination…
    Greetings from my Little Big City

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Thank you for reading and I am happy you enjoyed it. I write more for readers like you, than for ‘she’. But, it’s nice to feel that someone feels something from my posts.

      Reply
  3. Louise Jaques

    Peter, you’ve chosen a topic of great curiosity for me…wings. I have always had a strange fascination with them, one I can’t quite explain, like windows, tea or pianos. This was a pleasure to read, as always!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Louise! As a lover of wings and poetry, I direct you to where I ripped off this title, Emily Dickinson’s Hope Is The Thing With Feathers. And if you’ve got nothing better to do, I invite you to click into my ‘Favorites’ category and read: This Is About You. It has nothing to do with wings, but you mentioned you were looking for short stories to read, and that’s my favorite of mine.

      Reply
  4. elisa

    “WITHOUT FEATHERS”- Woody Allen- 1998-
    I’m sorry I was misunderstood enough to be ‘treated’ with such hostility. I’m sure my compliment failed. Whatever…. I enjoyed reading “Hope Is the Thing With a Fuselage” and that’s the only thing I care about. Thanks for writing, Peter. (Even though I’m not your type of reader, haha.)

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I truly did not mean to seem hostile. I was just curious how you connected Woody Allen to my poem. I am familiar with the collection of Woody Allen short stories: Without Feathers. They are some of my favorites. And, sure the title of my poem reflects this same, still, it all comes back to Emily Dickinson. Your compliment didn`t fail, if you intended to flatter me. I am flattered, I was just curious how you saw Woody Allen in this poem. Thank you for reading and commenting. I do appreciate it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

