Remembering To Forget

One of those nights where

the past is stood up by the future

and the now is caught in between

with a present for both

but nobody’s got hands to grasp what wisdom the right now holds.

One of those nights where

you can’t tell the ink from the unlit

shadows

and this writer’s left tossing notes down black holes

hearing echoes of new songs played to old memories

remembering there are no new memories

can right now be a memory?

Forgetting you’re in a deja vu

photographing the mirror image of a dream

calling home to a continent you left this morning

and hearing them speaking from tomorrow.

I always ask who won the ballgame so I can go make a big bet

yet tomorrow always seems to know as much as I do.

10 thoughts on “Remembering To Forget

  1. Steven Myers

    the ice rain fell on montreal tonight wednesday.
    cripes. i thought we stuck around here for snow.
    what is this slippery?
    i wanna be trapped.
    but seriously, i love the in between feeling here.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Yeah, you read like a baseball fan where we get off in the inaction of the game. The anticipation of the pitch, the held breath of a frozen rope (does it have the distance to clear the fence?) Me? I’ll take rain to snow any time any month. Snow means cold. December rain at least gives the hope that Old Man Winter will miss his alarm clock and forget to show.

      Reply
  2. granbee

    “Speaking from tomorrow” is how I feel every afternoon when blogging with about half of my writer friends online! So glad I am not the only one thinking “Deja vu all over again”.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Rose! Isn’t time such an abstract? We take it so literally, so linearly, yet, like the stars, time seems to come from one direction, when really, it is all around us. I look forward to seeing you yesterday!

      Reply
  3. Louise Jaques

    “One of those nights where

    you can’t tell the ink from the unlit

    shadows.”

    Peter this was so wonderfully phrased. The imagery in this piece is razor sharp. You just get better and better!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Louise! I am glad you found something to enjoy here. It’s funny about the ‘better and better’ part, cause lately I’ve been sorting through old journals mining for any line that stands out and then cutting and pasting them on the screen. If I seem like I’m getting better and better, it’s really cause I’m getting worse and worse so I’m stealing from myself from years ago.

      Reply
  4. planaquarium

    I know this feeling. Some days feel so familiar, almost like a memory.
    No snow here, either….rain and 60 degrees yesterday. Thankfully, a green Christmas can be just as happy. Hope yours is!

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      I’m glad we connected on this one, planaquarium! You wonderful psyeudonym you. Me? I dream of a green Christmas. I don’t dream in black and white, especially for weather. I’ll take rain over snow any month of the year.

      Reply
  5. Daisy Altug

    Your writing is really touching. To be in between, remembering there are no new memories … Those are what I feel nowadays. Are you writing for me? Thank you master Peter.

    daisy

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      Daisy! I am happy to find a place that we share. I am writing for everyone and especially anyone who has felt time laughing at the clock on the wall. Time can not be counted in series of 12. Time is infinite and like the word ‘get’ it can mean anything.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

