With a Slip of The Pencil it is Now Eventually

I

am fighting

how frightening

and how far

one wrong word

can take a turn

from your original meaning

meaning of the 600,000+ words

we got making up this language

we call English

one slightest slip

of the lead can lead

even the most seasoned writer

to his dead end.

And that word is

you.

But I don’t want to end on you

so I can scratch you out and start out, though I am in the middle of this poem

I guess I have something against a blank piece of paper, a pen and a whole lot of time.

For me to tear this page apart with a saber toothed tiger pen

this poor piece of paper was hurting no one at all

then I come along and disfigure it

because I see every empty page ahead of me

as an invitation to mate the future with the past

hoping their offspring will teach me to understand

now eventually.

One thought on “With a Slip of The Pencil it is Now Eventually

  1. granbee

    ” I see every empty page ahead of me as an invitation to mate the future with the past hoping their offspring will teach me to understand now eventually.”: EXACTLY how I feel! Likewise about an empty “drafting new post” screen in my admin link for my blog. If you think a slip of the pencil is disastrous (or serendipitous, as the case may be), imagine me typing a post after 7.5 hours of blogging and editing elsewhere on the WWW–and typing on a borrowed laptop that does NOT have an ergonomicallyl correct keyboard! And you thought I was drunk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

