Divorced From Our Wedding Photos

It’s like sunshine in the wintertime

oh, you can see it, but you can’t feel it

so I go inside warm by electric light

and count down heart beats

my blood is blue inside me

turns red whenever I bleed.

Even the greatest vocabulary fails to bring new meaning to history or spirituality

unless you believe Benjamin Franklin created electricity

believe the fantasy of Prometheus.

The language of science like the science of language

tongue tied to the grammar of the motion of emotion

drawn from the depths

paints blue blood red

the second it takes its first sip of oxygen.

Pouring out, I’m a negative of me

caught in dreams black and white photography

and I can feel my heart beating

and I know that though you can’t feel

sunshine in wintertime

give it time

the ice will lose its bite

Old Man Winter will loosen his reign

snow will reincarnate to rain

the flowers haven’t forgotten how to fight

through a crack in the sidewalk.

2 thoughts on “Divorced From Our Wedding Photos

  1. Louise Jaques

    Again, another beautiful poem. How’s your reading voice? I think this would make a wonderful performance piece…It really is so arresting! The opening two lines were the best though.

    Reply
    1. cottonbombs Post author

      My reading voice dictates my writing voice. I don’t know about you, but I’m always talking to myself. These conversations often become fodder for my writing. Good eye on the best lines. I agree. Those two lines were always my watermarks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

