Trick or Treat: The Ultimatum

I think every day should be

just like Halloween

so I go trick-or-treat

at your door.

We’d wear our costumes

to show off our moods

and you’re the wicked witch

when I come to your door.

Now you’re the whore of Babylon

next you’re my Muse then you’re gone

and I don’t know if it’s right or wrong

taking candy from you.

You hand an apple to me

you’re dressed up as Eve

but Eve didn’t put razor blades

into its core.

So I’ll take off your mask

I’ll take off your costume

and I’ll see there’s nothing left

of you.

So what I loved

and what I feared

disappeared

and I’m left with a handful of candy

and a mouthful of cavities.

Leave a Reply

